Fall 2023



Community Sign-on Letter to Missoula's Next Mayor

Dear Andrea Davis, Missoula's new Mayor,

It's clear that human-caused climate change is resulting in extreme impacts today, and the more we learn about the dangers, the greater the urgency to act. We know there are tangible solutions to mitigate the climate crisis and become more resilient to its impacts, such as electrifying our buildings, investing in renewable energy, making low-income housing more energy efficient and planning for more sustainable transportation.

The City of Missoula has committed to using 100% clean electricity in the urban area by 2030, implementing the Climate Ready Missoula plan, partnering on the collaborative Electrify Missoula campaign, and more. To meet these critical commitments, we believe local government must step up as a leader.

We, the undersigned, ask the incoming Missoula Mayor to lead on climate by:

- Providing the staff and leadership necessary to meet Missoula's climate and energy goals.
- Prioritizing efforts at the intersection of climate smart development and affordable housing.
- Seeking new granting and funding opportunities to build a Climate Ready Missoula.
- Sharing successes and opportunities, encouraging other communities in Montana and beyond.

As our new Mayor, we ask you to lead the City in meeting this moment and building a vibrant, climate-prepared and healthy community for all.

Sincerely,

Climate Smart Missoula
Citizens Climate Lobby
Faith and Climate Action Montana
Heritage Timber

RE Events
Montana Renewable Energy Association
Montana Chapter of the Sierra Club
Emmaus Campus Ministry
Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
Citizens Climate Lobby
Heritage Timber

RE Events
OnSite Energy
Pattee Canyon Outdoor School
Moses Architecture & Sustainable Design
SeaBird Strategies

The following individuals:

Avery Fleming Abby Huseth **Brittany Peterson** Alena Furlong **Becky Douglas** Bryan von Lossberg Allison Cutuli Belen Zamora Bryony Schwan Allison De Jong Beth Judy Bryson Delp Caitlin Piserchia Beth Schenk Allison McKinney Alysha Goheen Blair Libby Caitlyn Lewis Amy Cilimburg **Bob Wachtel** Caleb Koebble **Andrew Phillips** Bonnie Buckingham Candy Hartman Andrews Allaway Brigitta Lee Carl Ammons

Carol E. Kleinert Caroline Bean Caroline Byrd Caroline Kurtz Caroline Lonski **Charles Stuart** Christian Dean **Christopher Densmore** Christopher J. Preston

Claudia Brown D.K. Izlar

Dalton Leach Dan Bucks Dana Eisenberg Dara Newman Dave Atkins Dave Westfall **David Morris** Debra Crawford

Devin Corliander Eileen Gallagher Elani Borheggi **Emma Trotter** Eric Huseth Eric Melson Eric Strandvold Erica Paran

Erin Heaton Ethan Wiese Ethel MacDonald Gary Delp Gwen Lankford

Hannah Kosel **Hannah Mathews**

Hannah Robitaille

Gwen Sensenig

Isaac Kantor Jacob Rilev Jade Markus James T Roach Jennifer Faiella Jeremy Drake Jeremy Flesch Jessica Allred Jessica Catron

Jessica Tuberty Jillian Hull Jon O'Connor Joyce Gibbs

Judith Mendelsohn **Judy Douglas** Julie Colibri Kael Fry Karen DiBari Karen Nash Joynt Karen Sippy Kate Lindner Kathryn Strauss

Katy Spence Kay Nash Kenneth Scruggs Kim Murchison

Kristin Freeman **Kristine Ferriter** Laure Pengelly Drake Laurie Yung Leah Gordon Linda L Pilsworth Linda Smith Luca Welle Mackenzie Cole Makenna Sellers Maren Brophy Maria von der Pahlen Maribeth Johnson

Representative Marilyn

Marler

Martha Newell Mary Dickson

Mary Mulcaire-Jones

Mathias Delp Melissa Hayes

Melissa Matassa-Stone Melody Cunningham

Mia Hanak Michael Flanagan Michael Foote Michal Herbert Mike DeGrandpre Molly White Nancy Seldin

Nancy Siegel **Nathan Stephens** Nathan Turner Neva Hassanein Orion Thornton Patrick Burke Peggy Miller

Paul Miller Peggy Schmidt Peter Lesica **Peter Tuberty** R. Taylor Lennox Rachel Aviaz Rachel Kantor Rachel Pauli

Rebecca MacDonald

Representative Connie Keogh

Rianna Bowers Rick Craig Robbie Liben Roxane Weikel Sage Sutcliffe Sarah Lundquist Scott Hamptom **Scott Moses Scott Samuels** Seth Anderson Shannon Flanagan Shanti Devins Shawn Thompson Shirley Atkins Simon Dykstra

Stephanie McDaniel-Gilman

Susan Anderson Susan Pileggi Susan Teitelman Taiga Ganell Tracy Hall Tyler Halligan William Geer Winona Bateman Wren Cilimburg

Sophia Deichmann